You are using an outdated browser. Some of the rich features of this site is not going to function on this browser. Consider updading your browser or using a newer browser.

Authors of America's Moment

In 2013 Markle convened Rework America, a group of more than 50 remarkable and diverse leaders committed to advancing strategies to help Americans succeed in today's rapidly changing world. The broad collaboration includes entrepreneurs, technology leaders, CEOs, educators, community and religious leaders, as well as other partners. Their insights are detailed in the America's Moment, an action agenda for the digital economy, which has inspired several initiatives across the country, including Skillful.

Madeleine K. Albright

  • Chair, Albright Stonebridge Group
  • Former Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State

Cory A. Booker

  • Member, United States Senate
  • Former Mayor, City of Newark

John Seely Brown

  • Visiting Scholar and Advisor to the Provost, University of Southern California
  • Independent Co-Chairman, Deloitte’s Center for the Edge

Erik Brynjolfsson

  • Schussel Family Professor of Management Science, Professor of Information Technology, and Director of Center for Digital Business, MIT Sloan School of Management

Calvin O. Butts, III

  • Pastor, The Abyssinian Baptist Church
  • President, State University of New York College at Old Westbury

Michael M. Crow

  • President, Foundation Leadership Chair, Professor of Science and Technology Policy, Arizona State University

Jim X. Dempsey

  • Executive Director, Berkeley Center for Law & Technology

John Engler

  • President, Business Roundtable
  • Former Governor, State of Michigan

Michèle A. Flournoy

  • CEO, Center for a New American Security
  • Former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy, U.S. Department of Defense

Joichi Ito

  • Director, The Media Lab, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Shirley Ann Jackson

  • President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Co-Chair, President’s Intelligence Advisory Board

Leila Janah

  • Founder and CEO, Sama Group
    Founder and CEO, LXMI

Nancy F. Koehn

  • James E. Robison Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Andrew McAfee

  • Co-Founder and Co-Director, MIT Initiative on the Digital Economy
    Principal Research Scientist, MIT Sloan School of Management

Michael J. McCloskey

  • Co-Founder and CEO, Select Milk Producers
  • General Manager and Partner, Fair Oaks Dairy Farms

Kenneth B. Mehlman

  • Partner, Kohlberg Kravis Roberts
  • Former Chairman, Republican National Committee

Cheryl Mills

  • CEO, BlackIvy Group
  • Former Counselor and Chief of Staff, U.S. Department of State

Gavin Newsom

  • Lieutenant Governor, State of California
  • Former Mayor, City of San Francisco

Matthew J. Slaughter

  • Dean, Dartmouth Tuck School of Business
  • Former Member, President’s Council of Economic Advisers

Michael Spence

  • William R. Berkley Professor in Economics & Business, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University
  • Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, 2001

Roy Spence

  • Co-Founder and Chairman, GSD&M
  • Co-Founder & CEO, The Purpose Institute

James B. Steinberg

  • Dean, Maxwell School, Syracuse University
  • Former Deputy Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State

Dan Wagner

  • CEO and Founder, Civis Analytics
  • Former Chief Analytics Officer, Obama for America

Philip D. Zelikow

  • White Burkett Miller Professor of History, University of Virginia
    Former Executive Director,
    9/11 Commission

Robert B. Zoellick

  • Chairman, Board of International Advisors, Goldman Sachs
  • Former President, World Bank

Former Initiative Members

Members who left the Initiative due to federal executive appointments

Ashton B. Carter

  • Director, Belfer Center for Science
    and International Affairs
    Former Secretary of Defense, U.S. Department of Defense (2015-2017)

Julián Castro

  • Secretary, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Former Mayor, City of San Antonio