You are using an outdated browser. Some of the rich features of this site is not going to function on this browser. Consider updading your browser or using a newer browser.

Acknowledgements CFP

  • The members of the Markle Connecting for Health Policy Subcommittee have accomplished an extraordinary task in less than a year’s time—the development of an evolving piece of work that can serve as the core of nationwide health information exchange—the policy components of the Markle Connecting for Health Common Framework for Private and Secure Health Information Exchange, published in 2006. During this time, we have been fortunate to work with respected experts in the fields of health, information technology, and privacy law, all of whom have contributed their time, energy, and expertise to a daunting enterprise. Our consultants and volunteers have worked long hours in meetings and conference calls to negotiate the intricacies of such issues as privacy, security, authentication, notification, and consent in health information exchange. We offer them our heartfelt thanks for taking on this journey with us, and look forward to the remaining work ahead.

    In addition, we would like to offer special thanks to the volunteers and consultants who authored the initial drafts of this body of work—their hard work created a strong foundation upon which to focus the Subcommittee’s deliberations: Stefaan Verhulst, Clay Shirky, Peter Swire, Gerry Hinkley, Allen Briskin, Marcy Wilder, William Braithwaite, and Janlori Goldman.

    Finally, we must note that none of this work would have been possible without the leadership and inspiration of our co-chairs, William Braithwaite and Mark Frisse.They have led us with steady hands and determination of spirit.

    Markle Connecting for Health Policy Subcommittee

    William Braithwaite, MD, eHealth Initiative, (Co-Chair)

    Mark Frisse, MD, MBA, MSc, Vanderbilt Center for Better Health, (Co-Chair)

    Laura Adams, Rhode Island Quality Institute

    Phyllis Borzi, JD, George Washington University Medical Center

    Susan Christensen,* JD, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, United States Department of Health and Human Services

    Art Davidson, MD, MSHP, Denver Public Health

    Mary Jo Deering,* PhD, National Cancer Institute/National Institutes of Health, United States Department of Health and Human Services

    Jim Dempsey, JD, Center for Democracy and Technology

    Hank Fanberg, Christus Health

    Linda Fischetti,* RN, MS, Veterans Health Administration

    Seth Foldy, MD, City of Milwaukee Health Department

    Janlori Goldman, JD, Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons

    Ken Goodman, PhD, University of Miami

    John Halamka, MD, CareGroup Healthcare System

    Joseph Heyman, MD, American Medical Association

    Gerry Hinkley, JD, Davis, Wright, Tremaine LLP

    Charles Jaffe, MD, PhD, Intel Corporation

    Jim Keese, Eastman Kodak Company

    Linda Kloss, RHIA, CAE, American Health Information Management Association

    Gil Kuperman, MD, PhD, New York-Presbyterian Hospital

    Ned McCulloch, JD, IBM Corporation

    Patrick McMahon, Microsoft Corporation

    Omid Moghadam, Intel Corporation

    Joyce Niland, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center
    Louise Novotny, Communication Workers of America

    Michele O'Connor, MPA, RHIA, MPI Services Initiate

    Victoria Prescott, JD, Regenstrief Institute for Healthcare

    Marc A. Rodwin, JD, PhD, Suffolk University Law School

    Kristen B. Rosati, JD, Coppersmith Gordon Schermer Owens & Nelson PLC

    Sara Rosenbaum, JD, George Washington University Medical Center

    David A. Ross, ScD, Public Health Informatics Institute

    Clay Shirky, New York University (Chair, Technical Subcommittee)

    Don Simborg, MD, American Medical Informatics Association

    Michael Skinner, Santa Barbara Care Data Exchange

    Joel Slackman, BlueCross/BlueShield Association

    Peter P. Swire, JD, Moritz College of Law, Ohio State University

    Paul Tang, MD, Palo Alto Medical Foundation

    Micky Tripathi, Massachusetts eHealth Collaborative

    Cynthia Wark,* CAPT, United States Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, United States Department of Health and Human Services

    John C. Wiesendanger, MHS, West Virginia Medical Institute/Quality Insights of Delaware/Quality Insights of Pennsylvania

    Marcy Wilder, JD, Hogan & Hartson LLP

    Scott Williams, MD, MPH, HealthInsight

    Robert B. Williams, MD, MIS, Deloitte

    Joy Wilson, National Conference of State Legislatures

    Rochelle Woolley, RxHub

    Amy Zimmerman-Levitan, MPH, Rhode Island State Department of Health



    *Note: Federal employees participate in the Subcommittee but make no endorsement

    ©2006-2012, Markle Foundation

    These works were originally published as part of the Markle Connecting for Health Common Framework: Resources for Implementing Private and Secure Health Information Exchange. They are made available free of charge, but subject to the terms of a License. You may make copies of these works; however, by copying or exercising any other rights to the works, you accept and agree to be bound by the terms of the License. All copies of these works must reproduce this copyright information and notice.