You are using an outdated browser. Some of the rich features of this site is not going to function on this browser. Consider updading your browser or using a newer browser.

Markle Task Force on National Security in the Information Age Members

Robert D. Atkinson, PhD

  • President, Information Technology & Innovation Foundation

Zoë Baird

  • President, Markle Foundation
  • Co-chair, Markle Task Force on National Security in the Information Age

James L. Barksdale

  • Partner and Co-founder, The Barksdale Group
  • Co-chair, Markle Task Force on National Security in the Information Age

Rand Beers

  • Under Secretary for the National Protection & Programs Directorate, Department of Homeland Security

Eric A. Benhamou

  • Chairman and CEO, Benhamou Global Ventures LLC

Bruce Berkowitz

  • Research Fellow, Hoover Institution

Jerry Berman

  • Chairman & Founder, Center for Democracy and Technology

Robert M. Bryant

  • National Counterintelligence Executive, Office of the Director of National Intelligence

Ashton B. Carter

  • Former Secretary of Defense, U.S. Department of Defense (2015-2017)
  • Former Senior Executive, Markle Foundation

Fred H. Cate

  • Professor of Law, Maurer School of Law
  • Director, Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research, Indiana University

Scott Charney

  • Corporate Vice President of Trustworthy Computing, Microsoft Corporation

Wesley K. Clark

  • Retired General, United States Army

Robert J. Clerman

  • Corporate Vice President of Corporate Mission Development, Noblis

William P. Crowell

  • Independent Consultant, Information Technology, Security and Intelligence Systems

Bryan Cunningham

  • Principal, Morgan & Cunningham LLC

Jim X. Dempsey

  • Executive Director, Berkeley Center for Law & Technology

Mary DeRosa

  • Deputy Counsel to the President for National Security Affairs
  • Legal Advisor to the National Security Counsel

Sidney D. Drell

  • Professor, Stanford Linear Accelerator Center

Esther Dyson

  • Chairman, EDventure Holdings

Amitai Etzioni

  • Professor, George Washington University

Richard Falkenrath

  • Principal, Chertoff Group

David J. Farber

  • Distinguished Career Professor of Computer Science and Public Policy, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University

John Gage

  • Independent Advisor

John Gordon

  • Retired General, United States Air Force

David Gunter

  • Director, Microsoft Trustworthy Computing, Microsoft

Morton H. Halperin

  • Senior Advisor, Open Society Institute

Margaret Hamburg

  • Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration

John J. Hamre

  • President & CEO, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Eric Holder

  • Attorney General, United States

Jeff Jonas

  • Chief Scientist, IBM Entity Analytics Group

Arnold Kanter

  • Founding member, The Scowcroft Group

Drew Ladner

  • President and CEO, Pascal Metrics Inc.

Michael O. Leavitt

  • Founder and Chairman, Leavitt Partners
  • Former Governor, State of Utah

Tara Lemmey


John O. Marsh, Jr.

  • Professor, George Mason University School of Law

Judith A. Miller

  • Former Senior Vice President, General Counsel, and Member of the Board of Directors, Bechtel Group

James H. Morris

  • Professor of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University

Craig Mundie

  • Senior Advisor to the CEO, Microsoft

H. William Neugent

  • Chief Engineer for the Corporate Information Security Technical Center, MITRE Corporation

Daniel B. Prieto

  • Vice President and Practice Lead, Global Business Services Public Sector Strategy and Change, IBM
  • Senior Associate, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Clay Shirky

  • Adjunct Professor, New York University Graduate Interactive Telecommunications Program

Jeffrey H. Smith

  • Partner, Arnold & Porter
  • Former General Counsel, Central Intelligence Agency

Abraham D. Sofaer

  • Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution

Doug Sosnik

  • Consultant

James B. Steinberg

  • Dean, Maxwell School, Syracuse University
  • Former Deputy Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State

Peter Swire

  • C. William O'Neill Professor of Law, Ohio State University

K.A. (Kim) Taipale

  • Founder & Executive Director, Center for Advanced Studies in Science and Technology Policy, Stilwell Center

Mel Taub

  • Independent Consultant

Rick White

  • Principal, Woodbay Group

Richard J. Wilhelm

  • Executive Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.